فیلم و پویانمایی

Steve Reviews: Godzilla 1954 (The Original)

Bit of a change from animation I know, but this week Steve Reviews the original Godzilla film from 1954, it is actually an incredibly dark and serious toned film, with a deep polictical message at its core. It is something that I have wanted to review for a long time, and I'm hoping you guys enjoy!

نظر 

  1. Abdiel Juarez

    Abdiel Juarez

    پیش 5 دقیقه

    Can u review godzilla vs DESTOROYAH!

  2. NintenD0rk93

    NintenD0rk93

    پیش 2 روز

    I would love to see you review Shin Godzilla

  3. NerdyViolaPlayer 687

    NerdyViolaPlayer 687

    پیش 2 روز

    "You can see your father soon, we'll join him in heaven" *That's just heartbreaking to hear.*

  4. Jadwiga Nowak

    Jadwiga Nowak

    پیش 2 روز

    Shin godzilla bastard

  5. Redirk 2

    Redirk 2

    پیش 2 روز

    Ifakube. If-a-co-bey

  6. kepaluri

    kepaluri

    پیش 4 روز

    12:40 wait wait wait, did the hydrogen bomb existed back in the 50's?!

  7. S R.

    S R.

    پیش 4 روز

    When the J demands your unconditional surrender and will use nukes if you dont. greatest ally indeed

  8. MrReddragon543

    MrReddragon543

    پیش 4 روز

    you should review shin godzilla. it's like a remake of the 1954 but showing the evolution of the weapon in progress ( godzillas evolution) it's also got one of the guys who worked on evangelion

  9. Charles 22

    Charles 22

    پیش 4 روز

    Possibly the best monster movie ever, short of Alien. The one thing this movie and Alien both had for a long time, was the sense of dread and supreme atmosphere. Hard to believe all the other Godzilla movies were garbage in comparison. BTW, while the mother had no music in the original, saying they would meet their father in Heaven, the music is at least it's equal, because the music is fantastic, and carries the sense of dread in this movie like no other. irmys.info/more/e6l0cpuWfJqigGk/fy-lm-h-y.html

  10. godzilla gaming.studios

    godzilla gaming.studios

    پیش 4 روز

    i am a Godzilla fan too and when i first watch Godzilla it was the original 1954 one the the 1955 (Godzilla raids again) just so i got to know him and then turn it to a fan the 1998 version was shit did u know that in 2022 toho are gonna make more live action godzilla movies

  11. Adam Perrot

    Adam Perrot

    پیش 4 روز

    toho is awsome

  12. hubert fidleswitch

    hubert fidleswitch

    پیش 4 روز

    i love godzilla so

  13. ZACK 1

    ZACK 1

    پیش 4 روز

    This movie kinda reminds me of HBO's Chernobyl, which is basically the hidden message of this movie. You know, nuclear disasters and all that.

  14. quinton cornelius

    quinton cornelius

    پیش 5 روز

    Why TF did the suit weigh so much

    • Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      پیش 2 روز

      Japan didn’t have enough materials at the time cause it has just come from a fascist land to a occupation. So that mean not enough plastic and rubber was available

  15. Logan Miller

    Logan Miller

    پیش 5 روز

    I've seen a bunch of the original movies these movies were my childhood I miss watching them, also I never watched them on disk I always had them on vhs tape so I never had any problem watching them.

  16. A M

    A M

    پیش 6 روز

    Destroyah was created by oxygen destroyer like oxygen destroyer uses the destroyah cells to kill everything but destroyah cells eventually grew and grew turning into adult destroyah

  17. Travis Nguyen

    Travis Nguyen

    پیش 6 روز

    Cthulu: ah yes a worthy opponent OUR BATTLE WILL BE LEGENDARY

  18. SimpSlayer

    SimpSlayer

    پیش 6 روز

    there are 2 kinds of people my friend: those who love and those who hate sequels

  19. Kory Mulanax

    Kory Mulanax

    پیش 7 روز

    I used to watch all these movies when I was a kid. I always wanted to be the guy in the suit destroying the tiny cities

  20. Ed Cliffe

    Ed Cliffe

    پیش 8 روز

    Ikufube (ee-koo-foo-bay)

  21. Ryzo X2

    Ryzo X2

    پیش 9 روز

    Not so good films: Godzilla from the 90's I hope. What you showed: 😫

  22. jon ojar

    jon ojar

    پیش 10 روز

    all the godzilla movie should have this dark tone with horror elements.

  23. DOGE Kenobi

    DOGE Kenobi

    پیش 11 روز

    I watched the movie on my xbox

  24. 4a ŁukaszSpringer

    4a ŁukaszSpringer

    پیش 11 روز

    ahhh showa godzilla the meme goji

  25. Super Bender

    Super Bender

    پیش 11 روز

    Who knew this movie was dark? Omg Godzillas awesome

  26. Nzosaba Matenge

    Nzosaba Matenge

    پیش 13 روز

    "Having a having a hero who can cause cancer isn't a good thing." Spider-man and Hulk: I'll act like I didn't hear that

  27. Jr Animations

    Jr Animations

    پیش 14 روز

    The narrator: only one can stand up to him.... The kid: Godzillaaaaaaa! 19:22

  28. Warriorzilla

    Warriorzilla

    پیش 14 روز

    If you wanna watch it for yourself, Well let’s go on Hulu bitches!

    • Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      پیش 2 روز

      @Warriorzilla have your ever heard of I’m sorry m8.

    • Warriorzilla

      Warriorzilla

      پیش 2 روز

      Have you ever heard of a little thing called jokes?

    • Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      پیش 2 روز

      Have you ever heard of a little thing called piracy?

  29. TheArtistryForge

    TheArtistryForge

    پیش 16 روز

    Fun fact about Godzilla 1998, that monster is officially named Zilla by the company that owns Godzilla.

    • Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      پیش 2 روز

      @TheArtistryForge yeah true

    • TheArtistryForge

      TheArtistryForge

      پیش 2 روز

      @Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago Actually people hate on him because of how horrible the movie itself was. They took him out with a tank. Thus why he was demoted from Godzilla to just Zilla.

    • Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      Villager Number 5 • 69 Years ago

      پیش 2 روز

      Zilla is actually a very interesting character. Shame that people hate on him because they originally called him Godzilla

  30. MRG 2

    MRG 2

    پیش 17 روز

    Ac-ear-a. If-uke-ue-bay

  31. fordsho joe

    fordsho joe

    پیش 17 روز

    The atomic bombs were horrible but I have a question. What would stop the Japanese in that time? They were dedicated in life and death I mean they were killing themselves for their leader. In that time Hirochito had been basically over thrown by his generals he couldn't even control them they were telling him what to say behind the scenes. He wanted to surrender way before the time the bombs were dropped. I honestly felt bad for the guy he wanted nothing more AT FIRST but to help his country and it's people. Not to mention unit 731 the Japanese did some horrendous things to the Chinese some of the things that happened at that time was worse than the 3rd Reich. But listen I'm not trying to start an argument or have people just attack me saying the us was horrible for doing it or whatever. But I'm just trying to have a conversation that's just that no yelling or saying anything bad about people just a talk. I wish we could have done something different I wouldn't wish that on anybody.

  32. mbrown4608

    mbrown4608

    پیش 18 روز

    This film will never get old

  33. General Donald Mordor

    General Donald Mordor

    پیش 19 روز

    7:57 I want tank figures like those they look fun

  34. Levi Edds

    Levi Edds

    پیش 20 روز

    1:11 ah my eyes! Don’t show that movie in my face. I hate it

  35. Christopher Helber

    Christopher Helber

    پیش 23 روز

    13:23 „I have no German Friends“ ..... what?!

  36. TheZeroNeonix

    TheZeroNeonix

    پیش 28 روز

    I prefer this version of Godzilla over the watered down, kid friendly version. I'd also recommend Sin Godzilla, if you haven't seen it yet. It's similar to this one, but it's more recent. Godzilla's the only monster, and he's the bad guy, serving as symbol of the dangers of nuclear power. Unfortunately, it does have an "American" character who speaks with a distractingly obvious Japanese accent. One change I really love is how Godzilla goes through these metamorphoses. He doesn't show up as a fully developed monster, but he grows into that, and all of his forms are super creepy.

  37. Yolkyostritch169

    Yolkyostritch169

    پیش 29 روز

    And I thought padak was disturbing.

  38. Lithuanian Bias

    Lithuanian Bias

    پیش ماه

    We don’t talk about 1998.

  39. IAm ThinkingOfAGoodName

    IAm ThinkingOfAGoodName

    پیش ماه

    R.I.P HMV Some year-2019

  40. Bora Güven

    Bora Güven

    پیش ماه

    The movie looks more like a war film

  41. Nodoken Starcanine

    Nodoken Starcanine

    پیش ماه

    It just blew my mind how this Godzilla film - the first ever one - was supposed to create a message of not using atomic bombs and how Godzilla was the embodiment of unstoppable destruction, yet in later films and adaptations completely took these away.

  42. Natalie Patton

    Natalie Patton

    پیش ماه

    O_O holy crap what a film

  43. Godzilla, The King of all Monsters

    Godzilla, The King of all Monsters

    پیش ماه

    this could have been one bit darker, with the film ending with the camera pointing to the sea, and you'd hear Godzilla's roar, as the screen fades to black

  44. maveo raveo

    maveo raveo

    پیش ماه

    Can you review In this Corner of the World or Whisper of the Heart? They are amazing Studio Ghibli movies!

  45. Here's Bianca

    Here's Bianca

    پیش ماه

    oh wait every gozilla movie is a diferent gozilla

  46. Goomba ringe

    Goomba ringe

    پیش ماه

    The original Godzilla reminds me a lot of the first cloverfiled tonally

  47. LuraLord 04

    LuraLord 04

    پیش ماه

    I think the derpy eyes can look kind of scary. Two lifless scary eyes staring trough your soul. Godzilla is like a radioactive dinosaur zombie.

  48. Atomic — Studios

    Atomic — Studios

    پیش ماه

    It’s ee-fook-oo-bay

  49. Atomic — Studios

    Atomic — Studios

    پیش ماه

    Holy shit I never knew how dark Godzilla 1954 was

  50. BULATAO Channel 195

    BULATAO Channel 195

    پیش ماه

    13:11 "Aw, They Ded."

  51. Jacob Kuhn

    Jacob Kuhn

    پیش ماه

    More Godzilla plz u are great at reviewing them

  52. Iguana Boi

    Iguana Boi

    پیش ماه

    Films like Gojira, Barefoot gen, and grave of the fireflies are proof that a country can go through an existential crisis

  53. Ian Womack

    Ian Womack

    پیش ماه

    to those of you who disliked this, please explain why.

  54. Star Platinum

    Star Platinum

    پیش ماه

    I should not have created that oxygen destroyer😓

  55. Amenadiel The Fallen

    Amenadiel The Fallen

    پیش ماه

    I like the original Japanese version. I've watched that one many times. I've only seen the US version once. I hated it and because it only re-affirms my belief that Americanized Japanese media is shit. Having said that, yes I watched Transfomers the animated series, Voltron, Robotech, Star Blazers, Battle of the Planets and so forth. Still, I would choose any Japanese version of each of those over the US version any day. For the best Godzilla experience where he's just a force of unstoppable nature just watch the original Gojira/Godzilla 1954 movie then the Heisei Godzilla series starting with The Return of Godzilla 1984 up to and ending with Godzilla vs Destroyah 1995. I treat the others after the original 1954 movie and before the 1984 movie as unconnected canon. Still good but not part of the over arcing narrative.

  56. Hungry Films

    Hungry Films

    پیش ماه

    This feeling of disaster and impending doom in this movie is something very few godzilla movies have recaptured.

  57. Amirha Ayers

    Amirha Ayers

    پیش ماه

    Hearing the Godzilla roar reminded me of my bus in highschool. Not joking at all, when my bus stopped it sounded just like a Tripod from "War of the Worlds". The first time I heard it I almost freaked out.

  58. Will Simpson

    Will Simpson

    پیش ماه

    In the words of Daz Games “JESUS TAP DANCING CHRIST”

  59. Rodent King

    Rodent King

    پیش ماه

    This is such an impactful film

  60. corey huguley

    corey huguley

    پیش ماه

    But tbh you cant just stop a train, doesnt it have to break and slow down for a while?

  61. ARC REACTOR

    ARC REACTOR

    پیش ماه

    I just call the original Godzilla movie Gojira to avoid confusion

  62. Hamilton fan

    Hamilton fan

    پیش ماه

    Now I know why I grew up with King Kong instead

  63. Master Beo

    Master Beo

    پیش ماه

    Grew up with Godzilla on my VHS cuz I was lucky enough for my parents to consider it a baby sitter. Not that it is but kaiju culture was great.

  64. Jordan Fazende

    Jordan Fazende

    پیش ماه

    Also the guys name is pronounced (E-Foo-Koo-Bay) not, I Fuck Ube

  65. Merciless Radio

    Merciless Radio

    پیش 2 ماه

    Dude, seriously, if you had just been nuked for the 3rd time in a decade you would be dark and depressing too.

  66. Bruce Gruben

    Bruce Gruben

    پیش 2 ماه

    This is a dark and serious movie.

  67. Monsterkajiu13 beard

    Monsterkajiu13 beard

    پیش 2 ماه

    Do the anime Godzilla trilogy please!!!!

  68. The anime guy manga and Vocaloid Popular Gamer アニメ

    The anime guy manga and Vocaloid Popular Gamer アニメ

    پیش 2 ماه

    i love Godzilla movies

  69. Eazy Street

    Eazy Street

    پیش 2 ماه

    YOU SUCK!

  70. xavier

    xavier

    پیش 2 ماه

    Fun fact I'm in this film yea in the sewer so nobody can see me

  71. lets cook

    lets cook

    پیش 2 ماه

    I can speak Japanese very well

  72. Alisha Nguyen

    Alisha Nguyen

    پیش 2 ماه

    Idc how dark this movie is, I just love it ;w;

  73. Yugen Animations

    Yugen Animations

    پیش 2 ماه

    How to pronounce Ifukube: Ee-hū-kū-be

  74. Grizzly Bear

    Grizzly Bear

    پیش 2 ماه

    4:31 I can't right now. The rage was so tame and so hot at the same time XD

  75. Pluto Chan

    Pluto Chan

    پیش 2 ماه

    Who'd have thought the most destructive weapon ever would end up creating so much art

  76. Mamoreno0215

    Mamoreno0215

    پیش 2 ماه

    I love how the original Godzilla easily portrays how completely and underlying destructive nuclear weapons and warfare are in general

  77. Brandon Cap

    Brandon Cap

    پیش 2 ماه

    This is a fantastic video essay that describes just how beautifully impactful this film was. I am a huge Godzilla fan. This film is the reason why the franchise is so highly regarded and respected, despite some goofy entries. This film is why Godzilla is so deeply engrained in both Japanese and American popular culture. This was a great review!

  78. DeanOfGameStudies

    DeanOfGameStudies

    پیش 2 ماه

    Godzilla is the fusion of Goku and Shenron.

  79. •SleepyWatermelon• シ

    •SleepyWatermelon• シ

    پیش 2 ماه

    Those cry’s from that girl are just- it’s disturbing to me

  80. Sebastian Degan

    Sebastian Degan

    پیش 2 ماه

    Great video. Seeing the movie, i felt involved into the different characters: i mean, understanding reasons of every character that appear into the movie. Serizawa won't use his discovery for war, but it his forced to do, for stopping Godzilla. Yamane wishes to study the creature, maybe hoping that Godzilla could be more than a force of nature. And i understand the politicians: nearly 10 years before, two cities was obliterated and the panic spread. But i either understand the female protagonist, or the women at the conference, who insists to reveal the identity of the monster. I mean, it isn't just a monster movie, but a drama. I agree with you. Hope that my message be understanding, i'm not english.

  81. Jacob Chavez

    Jacob Chavez

    پیش 2 ماه

    This film is great it has a powerful message. Depicts scenes of sadness. And give people a different point of view. We all think of American as a global super power of freedom but around the world they be seen as ruthless and want to win a war at any cost

  82. Alexander Torralba Rivera

    Alexander Torralba Rivera

    پیش 2 ماه

    Godzllia 1998 next

  83. F I N L A N D

    F I N L A N D

    پیش 2 ماه

    This movie is so dark but the Godzilla puppet looking forward is just durp

  84. Enrico Pozon

    Enrico Pozon

    پیش 2 ماه

    I saw this movie back in the 90s, after I saw the 1985 movie. The original godzilla was better than rhe 1985 version.

  85. ZILLA STUDIOS

    ZILLA STUDIOS

    پیش 2 ماه

    This movie is classic dark and depressing and connot be compared to the films that came after it trying to remake it would be impossible ishiro honda tomoyuki tanaka akira ifukube eiji tsurbraya and haruo nakajima were the reason it was so classic

  86. Galionne

    Galionne

    پیش 2 ماه

    Steve, I love your reviews but I swear everytime you said "Ifukube" I suddenly felt the uncontrollable urge to yeet myself out the nearest window.

  87. Random Nerdery

    Random Nerdery

    پیش 2 ماه

    I'm sure its been stated in the comments, but i don't plan to go thru 3.2k comments, but Akira Ifukube's name is pronounced "EE-foo-koo-bay"

  88. Elamontel

    Elamontel

    پیش 2 ماه

    The anime movies that are on Netflix are really good. Though nothing like their original storyline.

    • WorldSchool Mosaic

      WorldSchool Mosaic

      پیش 14 روز

      It not for a Godzilla movie to much talking and not enough action with Godzilla godzilla fan don’t like it because Godzilla really only appears at the end so not the Best for a monster movie

  89. Unslaadahsil

    Unslaadahsil

    پیش 2 ماه

    Honestly, pirating a movie because the copy you bought doesn't work is possibly the only use of pirating I can think of that doesn't come off as cheap.

  90. Paul Easton

    Paul Easton

    پیش 3 ماه

    Godzilla 1954 Is the darkest Godzilla film

  91. Chris Moon

    Chris Moon

    پیش 3 ماه

    Great review!

  92. ignapro 666

    ignapro 666

    پیش 3 ماه

    12:03 when I saw that part I was thinking godzilla were having the eyes completaly in blank

  93. natgal

    natgal

    پیش 3 ماه

    i love revenge of godzilla and son of godzilla

  94. Lord Zanthar Teh Allen

    Lord Zanthar Teh Allen

    پیش 3 ماه

    Can you do a review of Shin Godzilla?

  95. Cool kid Kylar Hall

    Cool kid Kylar Hall

    پیش 3 ماه

    I’m in tears

  96. Large Marge

    Large Marge

    پیش 3 ماه

    i think some other godzilla films (which you probably have already watched with you being a fan) are the the anime trilogy shin godzilla and the american one with zilla

  97. Matteo Mascaro Pennacchi

    Matteo Mascaro Pennacchi

    پیش 3 ماه

    I like the Godzilla movies 🦖😎😎😎🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩😍😍❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️😍😍😘😍😍😘😍😘😘😘🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰😘😘😘😘😍😍😍

  98. Serious Neko

    Serious Neko

    پیش 3 ماه

    um... *Ee-Fee-Kuu-beh?*

  99. Wynona Angelica Wei

    Wynona Angelica Wei

    پیش 3 ماه

    The composer’s name is Japanese

  100. Isaac Rysdam

    Isaac Rysdam

    پیش 3 ماه

    Review starts at 9:41

بعد